|Premier Diamond Mine
Cullinan Diamond,Geological Tours and Entertainment
The Premier Diamond Mine
North East of pretoria, this quaint Victorian and Edwardian village is the heart of the diamond industry and the origin of the biggest diamond in the world and those used in the crown jewels.
Many diamond outlets, a jewellery school. Many old houses have been used for art galleries, restaurants, and curio shops.
The Premier Mine is an underground diamond mine owned by De Beers. It is situated in the town of Cullinan, 40 kilometres east of Pretoria, Gauteng Province, South Africa. Established in 1902, it was renamed the Cullinan Diamond Mine in November 2003 in celebration of its centenary. The mine rose to prominence in 1905, when the Cullinan Diamond — at the time the largest gem diamond ever — was discovered here.
The discovery of the mine occurred in 1890 by a Dutchman named Fabricius. He was actually prospecting for Henry Ward, who had an option to purchase the Wessels estate within a certain amount of time. However, Mr. Ward did not have any money to actually purchase the land and could have only done so if the land held diamonds, since it would be easy to find investors for it then. Ward became very fortunate when only a small part of the Wessels estate actually fell within the Cape Colony, and it was upon that portion of the land that the mine was discovered.
Premier Diamond mine- A working diamond mine that has tours every Sunday morning. Visit the great hole, the diamond shop. Make sure You book your tour.
Exception for mine tour :
No Children under 10
Times of Tours:
Weekdays 10h00 and 14h30
Tel No : 012 734 0260
Where to find us:
From Pretoria : Follow the N4 West towards Cullinan/Rayton. Turn Left at the R515 . Follow the signs towards the mine and turn into Oak Ave. At the end of the shops is the mine.
Day visitors can make use of the lapa with its braai area for family gatherings or special occasions.
Visit the quaint diamond village of Cullinan for a tour in the world famous Premier Diamond Mine and stroll down historic Oak Avenue with its various museums, shops and restaurants.
Camping in comfort- "The Outspan" consists of four beautifully restored ox wagons in a laager with a communal catering / lounge area and ablution facilities (hot and cold water).
The shaded camping areas each have their own braai area and share the open air ablution facilities (hot and cold water). A maximum of six people allowed per site.
All linen, bedding, crockery and fridges are provided.